Auto Body

Two rows of televisions with photographs each with a single chair placed in front
Faena Art - Buenos Aires

Auto Body depicts the body as language, creating a new polyphonic discourse of diverse actions and voices; on this stage, the body is a powerful vehicle for transcendence, movement and transformation. The show made its debut during Miami Art Week in December 2014. A curatorial committee - comprising Chana Budgazad Sheldon, Ximena Caminos, Tami Katz-Freiman and Brandi Reddick - selected 35 artists from the hundreds of nominations submitted by 26 international curators. With each new city to which Auto Body travels, a local curatorial committee selects works by local artists to be added to the show—continually fostering a new exchange of ideas and an international conversation on the political and economic inequalities of the art world and beyond. The presentation of the piece at the Faena Art Center marked the project’s first international stop. The Argentine curatorial committee — Ximena Caminos, Larisa Zmud, curator and co-founder of the Slyzmud Gallery, and Vivi Tellas, independent curator and theater director — selected an additional nine native artists. The work occupied the entirety of the Sala Molinos in addition to public spaces around the Faena Art Center Buenos Aires.


María José Arjona (Colombia) Cecilia Bengolea (Buenos Aires, Argentina) Rosario Bléfari (Mar del Plata, Argentina) Adriana Bustos (Bahía Blanca, Argentina) Jimena Croceri (Cutral Có, Argentina) Jen DeNike (USA) Cara Despain (USA) Zackary Drucker (USA) Naomi Fisher (USA) Eloise Fornieles (UK) Regina José Galindo (Guatemala) Ana Gallardo (Rosario, Argentina) Silvia Gurfein (Buenos Aires, Argentina) Micol Hebron (USA) Angie Jennings (USA) Marie Karlberg (Sweden) Sigalit Landau (Israel) Dana Levy (Israel) Molly Lowe (USA) Cristina Lucas (Spain) Marina Mariasch / Máquina de Lavar (Buenos Aires, Argentina) Lee Materazzi (USA) Alex McQuilkin (USA) Ana Mendez (USA) Nontsikelelo Mutiti (Zimbabwe) Narcissister (USA) Tameka Norris (Guam) Daniela Ortiz (Peru) Karina Peisajovich (Buenos Aires, Argentina) Christina Pettersson (Sweden) Kembra Pfahler (USA) Cheryl Pope (USA) Tanja Schlander (Denmark) A.L. Steiner (USA) Diana Szeinblum (Buenos Aires, Argentina) Sharita Towne (USA) Tiffany Trenda (USA) Naama Tsabar (Israel) Georgia Wall (USA) Agustina Woodgate (Buenos Aires, Argentina) Antonia Wright (USA) Rona Yefman (Israel) Maya Zack (Israel) CURATORIAL PLATFORM Ombretta Agró Andruff Beth Boone Ximena Caminos Susan Caraballo Ilaria Conti Carolyn Drake Rylee Eterginoso Rossella Farinotti Jane Hart Rujeko Hockley Tami Katz-Freiman Meaghan Kent Natalie Kovacs Hadas Maor Kimberly Marrero Diana Nawi Grela Orihuela Brandi Reddick Rotem Ruff Marie Shek Chana Budgazad Sheldon Stephanie Sherman Sandra Teitge Vivi Tellas Larisa Zmud Natalia Zuluaga